BBW
    mtbr member

Its time for 2 new wheelsets for my DW Spot

I have been using CK/819 for 5 years (have been in 3 bikes) with no issues at all including 4-5 foot drops.. I want CK hubs because of their reliability but not sure about the rim? 819 again or some stans? which and why?

I also want to build a race only wheel but not delicate; I will use it for endurance races... 1400-1500g would be nice; any idea on the rims and spokes??

I weight 170 plus gear and I'm smooth

Thanks for any advise you could share

mtbr member
    ZTR Arch/355 for smooth trailriding (2-3 footers incuded), ZTR Olympics for XC/marathon racing. As for the spokes - DT super comps or DT revolution for racing, DT competition for maximum reliability and great weight/strength ratio.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007

That's pretty light...

for a set of CK's with any rim and spoke combo, isn't it? I'm running a set of CK's with Stan's olympics and dt swiss rev spokes---just over 1500g. Can't imagine what kind of rim you'd need to get it down to 1400 even..

Monkey Wrench
    Dec 2005
    Complete wheels:
    DT Tricon. Light, stiff, 9mm/15QR. Good race setup 1550g
    Easton Haven. Same deal, but beefier. Good everyday trail setup 1650g
    DT EX1750. Excellent trail/park/enduro wheels. Too heavy for race day. 1750g
    Industry Nine. Buy the wheel for your needs. Avoid the uber-light rims for your rider weight unless you're ready to replace them alot.

Component wheels:
    King, DT, or Hope hubs. All are good and reliable. All are convertible.
    355's won't hold up, go with Arch or DT XR400 rims for race day.
    Flows or Velocity P35 for the trail wheels.
    Edge always makes a light stiff wheel if your budget will allow...
    DT Supercomps on the trail wheels, DT Aerolite or Sapim CX-Ray on the race wheels.
    Let me fix your bike @ ordinarybicycle.net in Louisville, CO

Knomer
    I just laced up some I9's to StanFlows and weight for both wheels is 1773g. Impressive for such a wide rim.