mtbr member

How's my Chainline? (Highline)

I'm looking to get some advice on my chainline. It's been a real PITA having to disassemble my cranks (RF evolve DH) and move spacers around but I think I finally got a decent chainline.

Race faces' instructions said to use one 2.5mm spacer (between the frames bb-shell and bb cup) on the non-drive side and two 2.5mm spacers on the drive side. With this setup, the chainline looked pretty lousy. After playing around with the spacer placements I ended up using two 2.5mm spacers on the non-drive side and one 2.5mm spacer on the drive side (exact opposite of RF's instructions). I also had to use one of the 1mm spacers on each side of the spindle inorder to take up the free space on the spindle and get a good chainline. With this setup, the chainline looked pretty good to me (but i'm no expert).

Thanks for the help.
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Also:

The non-drive side cranks is pushed out about 1/8" further than the drive side crank arm. It's not a huge difference, but I don't see any reason why they can't be symmetrical.

No, that's not phonetic
    What gear combos do you spend the most time in?

What gear combos are you putting the most load on the drivetrain in?
    My video techniques can be found in this thread.

Lay off the Levers
    That chain looks straight to me. But IDK anything about chainlines.

FM mentioned earlier that DT suggested your setup. 2 on the NDS +1 on the DS.
    I think that is rather dependant on the crankset you're using, as I had very little spindle insertion on my GravityLight cranks. For that setup I went with one spacer on each side.(or more specifically one spacer and a BB mounted E13 DRS)

This is as good a place as any to ask:
    Do NDS spacers effect chainline?

It would seem to me that they only affect the space btwn the NDS crank arm and the chainstay. (clearance) AFAIK the DS is only affected by the spacers on that side. No?