mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Flux and coming back

I've been riding since '95, racing XC since '97. I'm 36, race Cat 1/2 road, semi-pro XC, and cyclocross. 6'1", maybe 153 pounds. I'm a bike racer, try as I might to avoid it, often racing several times a week. In short, I'm a weenie and I've never had a reason to post on the Turner board.

I do now, because I replaced the Moots 29er HT I've been riding for two years with an '08 Flux. Other than the fork ('08 SID, much improved and making a good first impression on me as a light XC fork), wheels, and seatpost, all the components from the Moots have made their way to the Flux. It's a pretty standard X.O/Race Face/Avid Juicy Carbon build. The Flux is sitting right at 24 pounds with weight weenie 240/Stan's wheels and Nobby Nics. It weighs about the same as the Moots HT, amazingly.

The bike is rad. I've been a 29er proponent the last two years, but riding 26 again is like coming back to something familiar and nice. Beyond that, the suspension is incredible. I don't feel like I have to change my HT pedaling style at all. I tend to push bigger gears, but relatively smoothly. It works fine with this bike, and standing on the pedals isn't a problem. I'm more concerned about fork bob than the bike's rear suspension when standing.

It rocks and I'll be racing it a ton. I'm a hardtail holdout who never felt love for the FS bikes I briefly owned, but I just don't see a downside to the Flux for racing applications. I don't know that I'll really descend that much faster on this bike in most places than I did on the 29er, but I know I'll feel better in that third hour and beyond. The Flux encourages me to stay on the pedals and give'R all the time. That's what racing is about.

This thing is sweet. My only problem is that now I might want a Spot for those longer, non-racing epic XC days. I'll be racing this bike for a long time and spreading the word. Thanks for making the perfect XC bike.

Natl. Champ DH Poser/Hack