mtbr member
    Mar 2004

DW Sultan Impressions

After no new snow has shown up in over a week, I decided to head down south and try out my new DW Sultan. I know there has been a bit of anticipation about this bike. I also know not many have the opportunity (or foolishness) to buy one and essentially pray it lives up to the hype. So I thought some of y'all might like to hear another impression.

A few prefaces. First, I am NOT a professional reviewer. So if you're looking for handling subtleties and delicate nuances, you're out of luck.

Second, there were a lot of new variables involved with my first ride. New bike. New trail. Suspension not dialed. Crappy fitness. First 29er owned.

Third, my main point of comparison will be my old bike, a Mk.1 SC Nomad. I don't ride a ton of other bikes, so my scope of comparison is limited. I like my Nomad A LOT. It has been a great bike for me. It climbs good for me, I loved it on technical (for me) sections, and it descended like butter. I know people rag on the pivots, but yearly maintenance is all I ever needed. I seriously considered getting a Mk.2 Nomad but decided on something different. I'm also relying on memory of my old bike, as I did not ride them back-to-back. But I've been riding my Nomad for 3 years and put 3000+ miles on it, so I think I know it well.

Fourth, I weigh 135lbs and am 5'8". I've only ridden 1 bike in my life that I thought was a little flexy. So if I feel something flexing on a bike, it usually means something is broken.

Anyway, on to my impressions.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I rode the Barrel Trail in St. George. If you don't know this trail, it's a 6mi singletrack XC loop with about 600ft climbing. There are a few rocks here and there, but nothing technical and no slickrock. It's a middle-ring only affair. No areas to open it up too much either--I think my top speed was 20mph for about 1 millisecond.