mtbr member
    Mar 2006

New question here. "Dremeling" your rockers

I've recently replaced my Romic with a Push'd RP3 on my 03 Spot. It's on upside down - is it OK to dremel the rocker in order to allow it to be put on "right" way up - for ease of access to propedal switch? If so is it easy to do for your average Jo - I'm no great mechanic?

... I guess you won't be
    dont bother dremeling your rocker - even if you dremel it, it's not as easy to get a shock pump on the nib anyway, so just 180 it, so it's easy to access....just orient the shock so the air nib is in front of the rocker pivot, and the pro-pedal switch is between the rocker plates.....it's no big deal to switch it from one setting to the next, once you get used to the placement....save yourself some time and go ride....

the pro-pedal lever will slightly contact the rocker [barely], but under rider weight it's not an issue....you could mill off a millimeter if that bugs you.
    Yes, we do indeed rock...http://www.myspace.com/spokedrunkies

mtbr member
    Mar 2006
    thanks jokermtb - will save me money as well as time as dremel would require purchasing!

Toby Wong?
    i dremeled the rocker on my '03 Spot cause i wanted to be able to reach the lever and switch it on demand - it was a bit time consuming but easy - and i do change the propedal during rides, so it works well for me

you'll need a dremel and a couple of the course grit sandpaper bits

I freehanded it with the rockers on the frame and just tried to stay level and perpendicular to the rocker body

I covered my frame so the aluminum shavings didn't get all over the frame

you'll have to take off more material than you would suspect, to get the frame pump head squarely onto the shock valve. I emailed Turner with mid-progress shots and they were cool with the work I was doing.

my dremeling got it close enough....i have to compress the shock just a little bit to get it to fit full-on, but i'm ok with this