mtbr member
    Jul 2004

... and if we just ... Definately The Bike.....Not The Rider

I have been riding for over fifteen years, and there is a trail here called Jesus Saves that has an area that used to be a ski jump. Well this area has two hills that are so steep and rutted and sketchy and everything else that makes a hill impossible to climb that in all my years I haven't made them.....not ever. Well today the first time I've rode it on the new 5 Spot......wam, bam, thank you mam I cleaned them both. I couldn't believe it. There was actually a couple there with there two sons hiking when I crested the climb, and the woman said to her son "Oh look at the biker honey". I had to laugh because she had no idea what I had just done and of course my grin was as big as if I'd just won the Powerball!

So yes usually the twin piston engine is the important part, but my engine has been tuned for a long time and today was the magic day, coincidence, I think not. So I guess the moral is.....sometimes it is the bike. Thanks Dave Turner and the Turner crew for simply making the most outstanding all mountain do anything trail bike I've ever had the pleasure of throwing a leg over!!!

Dan

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Just curious. What bike models were you riding (in the past) when trying to climb that trail?

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

... and if we just ... I've had......

In this order (some overlapping of ownership):
    1.GT Timberline (fully rigid), I think I broke everything on this bike but the frame.
    2.Giant ATX 760 (fully rigid), a friend of mine still has this bike.
    3.Cannondale M800 (fully rigid, then forked later in life), first foray into "real" mountain biking.
    4 to 7.Numerous other Cannondale HT's (front suspension)...I broke all of these, except the last one which I sold before I broke it.
    8.Specialized M2 S Works (front suspension), turned into a SS later.