Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Czar vs Burner vs Spot!

Quick Observations: 2012 Five Spot vs 2013 Burner vs 2013 Czar

I've been riding for over 25 years, and most of those years on Turners. My bike last year was a buffed out 2012 5.5 Spot. I took delivery of a Burner and a Czar several weeks ago, and here are a few quick observations:

Czar: Full XTR 3 x 10 drive, Enve XC Wheels, Maxxis Ardent 29 x 2.25, Float 29 100cm travel, Weight as built: 25lbs 12oz.
    Czar vs Burner vs Spot!-czar.jpeg

The Czar is a thoroughbred. It is most definitely a Turner. Very fast and responsive on the straights. Pedals like a dream. Super responsive in the turns, almost feels high strung. To tell you the truth I don't find it any less responsive on switchbacks, etc than smaller wheeled bikes. (I do sort of miss the lowest granny on climbs - see below.) I found the Czar is harder to perfectly tune the suspension for my weight and riding style than other Turners, and I have been making very slight adjustments to suspension and tire pressure. I feel like I almost have it dialed. The bike is respectable through rocky sections at speed, but best to pay close attention.

This bike was over a pound lighter as built by Turner (entirely due to the tires). The original tires were Conti Race Kings - waaay too slippery on the typical loose over hard pack trails up here in Aye-dee-hoe. I switched to some Ardent 2.25s. All in all this is a beautiful bike and feels fast as hell. This bike is definitely my pick for any 20 mile+ XC ride.

Burner: Full XTR 3 x 10 drive, Enve XC Wheels, Schwalbe Hans Damf 27.5 x 2.35, Rock Shocks reverb drop seat post, Float 34 140cm travel, Weight as built: 28lbs 12oz.
    Czar vs Burner vs Spot!-burner.jpeg