Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
    Build More = Ride More

Convert your Kenda Nevegal from zero to HERO!

I've been getting a few personal messages from people asking about the Nevegal mod I mentioned in a thread.

This post shows you an awesome knob removal modification that can be done to the Kenda Nevegal to increase its cornering traction on loose surfaces.

So far I have only done the front tire, with mind blowing results. Simply put, my modified 2.35 Kevlar Nevegal out corners both types (3c and 42a) of 2.5 DH Minions I've been running for a couple of years. Can you say laser-guided-rail-system? I was holding on for dear life my last ride. In fact it's cornering so hard now, that I have super high pressure scratches in my top tube from my leg armor, that were never there before in a year of riding the frame.

I suggest maybe trying to remove every other knob to start and see how that feels. I went straight for all of them, so I have no idea what it would feel like if 50% of them were left on.

Couple of reasons I think it is worth while to try this:
    - Nevegals can be bought cheap.
    - Not only are you increasing cornering traction, but making it roll faster.
    - Better mud shedding.
    - It's considerably lighter than stock.

It might be important to note that the frame (Giant Reign X1) has a 67 degree HA and 32mm wide rims. I would imagine using a narrow rim with the same size tire and cutting the knobs would result in washing out because the outside knobs are folded out too far.

Your mileage may vary.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Build More = Ride More
    This is the best tool to use for removing knobs. Took me about 1 hour to do 1 tire.
    Attached Images Attached Images

eBiker
    Nice tire mod. I wouldn't think a gap that big would work so well.

I guessing turns require a decent lean for hook up?

What kind of dirt are you riding?

Time to take a peek at the tire pile with wandering eyes. lol.