mtbr member
    Aug 2006

New question here. Coil shock for the 5 Spot - worth it?

I have a Spot '05 with HL, 5.5" rockers and PUSHed RP23 (standard and hi-vol can available). Front shock is Vanilla RLC. Light Shimano XT wheels, 2.25" UST tires, no dropping and jumping. It's more XC ride, sometimes fun with stairs, roots, etc... I'm about 80-85kg in gear.

Thinking about coil shock for:
    - plushier ride (RP23 is super shock, but I want more sensitivity for small bumps)
    - backup shock
    - winter ride
    - probably more aggressive riding in the future

I'm in the Europe, so no CCDB and Avalanche. Marzocchi has no 190mm coil shock. I'm thinking about PUSHed Vanilla from tftuned.com or standard used Vanilla second hand. Or Manitou Swinger 4 or 3-way (X3, X4).

I have no experience with coil shocks at all, so the main question is - will I really have a plushier ride in compare with PUSHed RP23? How much I loose in pedal efficiency (with PUSH propedal in Vanilla)?

Thanks in advance!

Archer,
    I cant say if the coil would be worth it or not, but see no reason not to try one (at least for winter) since you prefer your Vanilla over Talas up front.

As to your pics I would say "just say no" to the Swingers, knowing what they are priced at over here and how bad my Swinger (air) sucked, I would take them off your list.

Find a nice used Vanilla give it a go and send it to PUSH (TFT) if you want something more out of it.

Ride and Smile
    I have not ridden the rp23, but I was very happy replacing my dhx-air with the dhx-c. The shock and the push rockers really changed the ride. Have not noticed any drop in efficiency for pedaling, I've been too busy enjoying the plush

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    A properly set up and tuned to your liking coil shock is an asset to a Turner in many ways. Yes, you do gain some weight, yet the advantages fair out weight the small weight increase. In your case it does not matter.