mtbr member
    Feb 2006

Bottoming out the Burner

I've searched for this with no success, so here goes: I've been riding my Burner for about 2 months now, and I've noticed that the suspension is bottoming out quite a bit - I'm not basing this on the o-ring, but on the 3 times I've been thrown OTB when my pedals hit roots 3-4" tall. Bike is set up with the Manitou 3 way shock, 165 psi and 130ish SPV, 195 lbs riding weight. From what I've seen in the forums, the pressure seem to be right, and higher shock pressures tend to make the ride too stiff for me...

My question is this: would switching over to the Float shock help this? Anyone else have this problem or any suggestions? Thanks for your help!

www.derbyrims.com

Try taller tires

Quote Originally Posted by dennisbd99
    I've searched for this with no success, so here goes: I've been riding my Burner for about 2 months now, and I've noticed that the suspension is bottoming out quite a bit - I'm not basing this on the o-ring, but on the 3 times I've been thrown OTB when my pedals hit roots 3-4" tall. Bike is set up with the Manitou 3 way shock, 165 psi and 130ish SPV, 195 lbs riding weight. From what I've seen in the forums, the pressure seem to be right, and higher shock pressures tend to make the ride too stiff for me...

My question is this: would switching over to the Float shock help this? Anyone else have this problem or any suggestions? Thanks for your help!
    The Float R should get the same deep travel range as your Swinger. Some riders say it performs better with the Burner, but it won't make any significant difference in pedal clearance.

Other than rider judgment of clearance, Bottom Bracket height matters for pedals clearing obstacles.

Turner bikes have relatively average to low BB height for the travel compared to other manufactures. Low BB height produce more stable handling, but obviously at the cost of less trail obstacle clearance.