Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2004

Anything really better out there than the Spot?

Hey guys, I've been riding a 2009 DW 5spot as my one-bike for the last 3 years, set up to be effective and enjoyable on aerobic trail rides pushing the ups as well as downs, not too XC and not too aggressive. (150mm up front, 1 degree saar angle set, triple chainrings, 2.2" tires - more aggressive in front and faster roller on the rear, etc).
    Lots has been going on during these 3 years - carbon, 27.5" wheels, etc. But for the first time ever, after replacing frames every 2 years and feeling a significant improvement each time (Horst link Spot --> TNT RFX --> DW Spot), I am really hesitant to switch to another bike - mainly fearing I will spend good money and end up with something not really any better. Its really a great bike.

- Has anyone here got a chance to compare the new breed of 5" Carbon 26ers (Intense Carbine, Mojo SLR, Mojo HD 140 etc) to the DW 5Spot and found that direction to be worth it?
    - Has anyone here got the chance to thoroughly compare the 27.5" Burner to the 5Spot built similarly and care to share?

Thanks for any input!
    Hear no evil. See no evil. Speak no evil. (Do it !?!)

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    a 2012 5 spot would be better,just due to the geometry and stiffer rear thru axle. as far as other bikes u mentioned you are only goin on personal likes or dislikes. had ibis hd, like the the turner better,carbon hd bike weighs a little less but still like the turner feel better. obviously the slr would be lighter and different geo.

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    Burpp thanks. I am definitely looking for subjective personal thoughts of people that relate to my riding description. I am using a 1 degree angle set so I am pretty close to the updated 2012 geometry already. Just trying to figure out of there is anything out there worth a serious thought of upgrading to or not. 27.5" included.