lurker extraordinaire

Another 2008 Spot

Here's my new ride. I can't say enough good things about the bike, as I'm sure most Turner owners probably feel about their own bikes. I have it built kind of heavy for a Spot (I think) at around 32lbs. This is "unofficial" since I don't have a scale that I'm entirely confident in, and the only scale that I do have is a scale for weighing people. I weighed myself, then weighed myself with the bike to come up with 32lbs.

I have been riding an 08 Giant Reign X for about 8 months, so this was a bit of a different kind of ride for me. I purchased the 5 Spot having never ridden one, or any other model Turner for that matter. However, after reading a ton of glowing reviews on the frame, speaking to other 5 Spot owners, and taking Turner's legendary customer service into consideration, I felt that I just had to take a chance and take advantage of the current price on the 2008 5 Spots (mine came with a 2009 shock, which I don't know if there's much of a difference between the 08 and 09 RP23, but that was kind of cool).

I want to give a full ride review here, but I feel like I would just be rehashing what everyone else who owns, or has ridden, a Turner has said a million times. If I could think of anything even remotely negative to say about the ride it would just be that, coming from a coil shock, the air shock obviously doesn't feel as plush - and that has nothing to do with the frame itself. I was a bit worried about only having 5.5" of rear travel but after 3 rides, all of which have been on rocky, technical terrain (I live in Arizona), I have yet to bottom it out. The bike has just been an absolute pleasure to ride. Even at 32lbs, it is a fantastic climber, and just an all-around great ride.