mtbr member
    Feb 2007

After Burner DH Frame?

I have been searching for a good used frame, to build a 6" travel all-mountain/freeride bike. I came across an inexpensive Turner After Burner DH frame that is in need of new bushing and a derailleur hanger. How does this frameset perform as an all-mountain frame? My riding experience is mostly on road and cross-country, so I am new to such extensive travel; I am building a 4" travel Santa Cruz Superlight. What is the frame weight? Will it be a decent all-mountain/freeride bike, in comparison to a Mountain Cycle San Andreas or Ellsworth Moment?

Natl. Champ DH Poser/Hack
    the afterburner was a excellent dh bike and would make a fine fr rig too but yer pretty much limited to a single ring setup. theres no cable stop for the f der. i think they were in the 9 or 10 lb range and didnt suffer from poor ride, flex and/or breakage issues of the other 2 bikes mentioned. a used 6 pack or rfx might be a better choice and worth the bigger investment. shaheeb has a rfx on the block as we speak.
    No, I'm NOT back!

%$#$*!
    If you can pick one up for cheap, it would be worth it, imo. If the deal is not that good, then I would drop a little more $ to pick up something a little newer and with possibly more life left in it.

I'm currently riding one but it has an 02 rfx rear tri on it. I use it for AM/light FR stuff. I'm light (140lbs.) and I don't drop anything over 7' (with good transitions) so it has held up fine.

You can run a front der. if you use a clamp on cable stop. I think Problem Solver makes one. I'm not sure of the weight of the frame. I did roughly weigh the whole bike once on a bathroom scale and it came out to around 34lbs. Incredibly accurate, I know! It's not super light, but it can still climb and the weight feels stable in the air.
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Feb 2007