Thread: 5 Spot Advice

mtbr member

5 Spot Advice

Hello,
    I am looking for some ideas and recommendations on beefing up my 5 Spot a bit. I started riding about 3 years ago on a xc rig. Started to beat it up a bit too much on the trails so I moved to a 5 Spot. Now I am looking to hit some more agressive lines, drop and jumps. I am 200lbs with gear.
    Here is my current set up:
    * Rear Shock: RP23
    * Fork: Fox Float RLC Fit 150 mm 15MMQR
    * Brakes: Shimano XT 180mm Front/160 mm Back
    * Shifter: XT
    * Cranks: XT
    * Rear Derailleur: XT
    * Pedals: XT
    * Stem: Thompson Elite
    * Handlebar: EA 70
    * Seatpost: Thompson Elite
    * Saddle: WTB Rocket
    * Bottom Bracket: XT
    * Chain: XT
    * Cassette: XT
    * Headset: Chris King
    * Grips: ODI Ruffian lock on
    * Front Tire: Nev 2.35
    * Front Rim:XT
    * Front Hub: XT
    * Rear Tire: Nev 2.1
    * Rear Rim:XT
    * Rear Hub:XT
    Thanks in advance.
    Apop
    life is steeper than it looks

mtbr member
    Your bike sounds great as it is, go rip it up!

Anything specific in the handling that you don't like?

Outcast
    what year 5 spot?

mtbr member

Handles Great

Quote Originally Posted by nybike1971
    Your bike sounds great as it is, go rip it up!

Anything specific in the handling that you don't like?
    Thanks!
    Yes I love it it has really changed my riding. I learned on the hardtail and xc rig how to pick really tight lines, but now I want to hit bigger jumps and i am worried about bottoming out the shock.

mtbr member

Quote Originally Posted by Renegade
    what year 5 spot?
    Hey Renegade its an 09

Outcast
    Quote Originally Posted by antipop
    but now I want to hit bigger jumps and i am worried about bottoming out the shock.
    Coil shock!
    I know a guy who has two avalanche chubbies in your size that he's looking to sell to fund his next frame purchase.

destination unknown
    May 2008