mtbr member

2011 5 Spot rear brake issue

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the Turner world. Just bought a used 2011 5 Spot which was essentially just as new. I'm in process of building it with a shimano XTR 975 wheelset with 180mm centerlock rotors. For brakes I'm using shimano XT 785s with a Shimano 180mm post mount adapter.

The issue I'm having is centering the rear brake. It just isn't possible. The caliper is positioned too much away from the wheel so the pad closest the wheel runs against the disc. The lateral movement of the brake is maxed out so I can't move it closer to the wheel.

2011 5 Spot rear brake issue-1q2l.jpg

Sorry for poor quality, only had iphone at the time.

I searched but didn't find a match on MTBR. But if anyone can direct me to a matching thread, that would be great.

Otherwise I'm not sure if the issue is my wheelset (worked with my previous Ibis Mojo though), the disc brake or post adapter (odd if so), or the frame I bought?

Brought it to my LBS and they were also stumped. Said they never had an issue with a post mount rear brake before.

Anyone use a Shimano centerlock wheelset and Shimano brakes on the Turner DW post mount? I'm not sure if spacing changes with the centerlock hub that could be a factor.

Thank you.
    Last edited by kameraguy; 08-25-2013 at 10:53 AM. Reason: added picture

~~~~~~~~
    Guaranteed Turner will help you sort this if it does turn out to be a frame issue.

In the meantime, my first thought was the variety of CL rotors. Do you have a 160 to try? You're probably not local to me but I've got a bunch. 6 bolt adapter and try that? At least you could shim the rotor out.

mtbr member