mtbr member

2004 Turner reviews

Hey Francois.

Seems like you must be very happy on your new bike.

You're one of the moderators here I believe. How do we go about having a place for reviews of Turner's 2004 models set up?

Cheers, Duncan

M070R-M0U7H FR3NCHI3
    Finally up!!

Review away!!

Flyin Canine
    How about 04 Titus too? And 2003 Hammerhead? I have been wanting to review my HH100x for like six months now but I hate it when people review stuff in the wrong year so I held off.

mtbr member
    Mar 2004

First ride on 2004 Burner

Just got done doing my first 2hr ride on the new Burner. I've been riding a 2000 XCE for a little over 3 years now, and have always run it with an air shock rather than the stock coil.

The Burner does have slightly different geometry than the XCE, a hair quicker, not quite as stable. Also, the revised main pivot location (the pivot on my XCE is above and behind the BB, not right above it) does improve the snappiness of the climbing slightly, not a big difference, but noticable.

This is one of the Suprgo Burners, so it's using a Float RL rather than the SPV shock.

The bike is very similar to the XCE. The front triangle is noticably stiffer (I'm 200lbs) and the rear triangle/BB area might be a little less stiff, but this might be relative to the front, so it's hard to say. Handling is very predictable, and the bike tracks very straight. Climbing is outstanding, the slight change in geometry required that I move the saddle forward a little, but is just slightly a better climber than the XCE was. Overall the Burner just feels like the XCE, but tweeked slightly for XC use.