mtbr member
    Jun 2011

Trek Care Plus extended warranty anyone have experience with this?

I just bought a Trek Fuel EX7. The dealer has offered me the "Trek Care Plus" extended warranty. Generally, I am not usually interested in extended warranties, but this one may be a good buy. I'm looking for advice from people who have experience with this. In my case, it will cost $359.00 for three years of coverage. Anyone?

mtbr member
    I have no personal experience with it, however, the shop I used to work at was talking to be about it.
    Apparently is is not just an "extended warranty", but usage coverage too.
    I was told that if you ride, crash, and break something it's replaced. I was also told that lets say you ride enough, and wear out your derraileur - it is replaced. You must do the maintenance on it, but if something breaks or wears out due to crash or usage, it is replaced.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    Well do you think you'll have to put 120 in parts a year into the bike to maintain it? I have a2009 ex7 with ALOT of miles on it and I have never worn out a derailleur, or cranks, etc. The only thing i wear out is chains, and tires. I personally would not spend the cash, but only you can answer that.

mtbr member
    That is one of the reasons I didn't do it.

By the way - it also ONLY COVERS ITEMS ON THE BIKE AT TIME OF PURCHASE.

I removed the brakes, shifters, and rear derailleur, and went to Hope brakes, Sram XO grips, and an X9 rear D. So, most of that stuff is already not covered.

Taco a wheel? Covered. Crash and put a major dent the frame? Covered. Scratch the stanction tube in a tip-over? Covered. Worn out chain? Covered. Now, a chain is not 120 bucks a year though. I know, it's one of those things, I guess if it's worth it or not. I personally am not going to buy it, but I CAN see the possible benefits to it.

mtbr member
    For most rider I think it is a great thing!