Thread: Trek Care Plus+

mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Trek Care Plus+

Hey guys,
    I'm about to buy either a X-Cal 9 or a Stache 7. I'm new to MTB, and was wondering if it's worth paying the extra $150.00 for the Trek Care Plus?

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    You can probably get your money's worth if you will ride a lot.
    But you could put that money towards upgrades as things wear out or good deals come up.
    That would seem likely to me given the spec level of the bikes.

mtbr member
    I did not do it on my mountain bike, but I did on my road bike.

It only covers items that are on the bike, or purchased with the bike from the shop, which is why I did not do it on the mountain bike.
    If you ride alot, or are concerned about crash damage, DO IT.

Warranty will not cover any crash damage, the Trek Care will.
    The only thing it does not cover is anything rubber, or anything that's life is specifically designed to wear. (grips, tires, tubes, brake pads)

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Thanks for the advice. I think it's worth the price of admission.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    I got it and am glad I did. I have not had to use it yet (only had my bike 2 months) but it gives me some piece of mind.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeyLXT View Post
    I got it and am glad I did. I have not had to use it yet (only had my bike 2 months) but it gives me some piece of mind.

I tipped per I bike over on the road and scratched the rear derailleur , would that cover it?

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    If it's no longer functional.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    No it's still working fine.. Just road rash

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    I have it and have made good use of it. A couple of weeks after purchase I endod, the bike cartwheeled away from me, and landed chain stay first on a rock. Replacing the stay covered the purchase of the plan.