mtbr member

Wink Trek 6500 Disc/GF Tas Disc/Specialized RH Comp Disc

Hi.

I am new to mountain biking and now I am considering these 3 models:

Trek 6500 Disc
    GF Tassajara Disc
    Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc

I've got a few questions.

(1) The 6500 has a shorter fork travel 80mm versus 100mm of the other 2. Should I worry about the 20mm difference?

(2) Both Tassa & 6500 has a hydraulic disc brake while the RH has a mechanical one. Is RH's brake equal or better than the ones that the other 2 has in this case?

(3) What is a genesis gemoetry that the GF has? How is it different than the other 2 "geometries"? Is the RH geometry more like the genesis or the 6500's?

(4) Which one is the lightest/heaviest?

(5) The Tass frame looks a bit filmsier than the other 2. Should I expect the same frame strength from the Tass?

(6) If you were to pick one for a race, which one would you take?

Thanks for answering!

HammerHead

Here are some answers

See answers below

(1) The 6500 has a shorter fork travel 80mm versus 100mm of the other 2. Should I worry about the 20mm difference?
    A. Not really unless you like bombing downhill, 80mm is plenty for XC, make sure that fork has true lockout, it helps a lot on climbs

(2) Both Tassa & 6500 has a hydraulic disc brake while the RH has a mechanical one. Is RH's brake equal or better than the ones that the other 2 has in this case?
    A. Mechanical brakes stop bike as well as Hydro, but the feel of the brake is slightly different ( so it is your personal choice), also hydro brakes require a little bit more maintainance

(3) What is a genesis gemoetry that the GF has? How is it different than the other 2 "geometries"? Is the RH geometry more like the genesis or the 6500's?