mtbr member
    May 2006

Trek 6500 disc or Gary FIsher cake 4 dlx

I am new to this mountain bike stuff. I got sick of running and now want to bike for my exercise. A week or so ago I started borrowing a 18" (a little to small for me) trek 8700 from a coworker that is encouraging me. I am getting more familiar with the way this crap works every other day when I ride. I am looking to jump into the the market and get my own bike. I plan on keeping this bike for a while. I don't really want to race just ride for fun and exercise. I want a capable bike that I can learn on and then use for many years

Two choses

Hard-Tale
    Trek 6500 Disc 2006

Dual
    gary-fisher cake 4 dlx. can get a really really great price on a 2005

mtbr member
    Apr 2006
    From your description of your needs in a bike, I think a hard-tail is the way to go. Change out the tires and you've got a decent road bike for exercising and a hard-tail will be a much better all-around bike IMO. I like the 6500 Disc, but I would probably spend a tad more money and pick up either the 6700 or the GF HKEK. You get a more "premium" level frame with the HKEK and if you like the Genesis Geometry I think that's the way to go. The 6500 disc is about $900. Spend $200 more and get a lot more bike.

So that's my recommendation - the 6700 or the GF HKEK.

w

Work Hard, Play Harder
    Quote Originally Posted by willx45x
    From your description of your needs in a bike, I think a hard-tail is the way to go. Change out the tires and you've got a decent road bike for exercising and a hard-tail will be a much better all-around bike IMO. I like the 6500 Disc, but I would probably spend a tad more money and pick up either the 6700 or the GF HKEK. You get a more "premium" level frame with the HKEK and if you like the Genesis Geometry I think that's the way to go. The 6500 disc is about $900. Spend $200 more and get a lot more bike.

So that's my recommendation - the 6700 or the GF HKEK.

w