mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Trek 4300 Upgrades

I just purchased a new 2007 Trek 4300. I have done some riding in the past, but for the most part I am new to the sport. I would like to do some upgrades to the bike. Does anybody have any recomandations so that I am able to get the most bang for my buck? Any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks!

Lionel Hutz, Esq.
    It's my opinion that a wheelset upgrade will give the most bang for your buck. Unfortunately, most newcomers are turned off when I tell them that it'll probably require an investment of at least $300. Decreasing the rotating mass on the bike will greatly improve acceleration and handling. 1lb less of rotating weight is like dropping 3lbs of stationary weight. Going to a lighter set of tires or going tubeless with a conversion kit (like Stan's) will also help with this.

A decent two-piece crankset would be nice. LX or Firex come to mind, although there are plenty more good sets. You're looking at a $150+ investment here. Again, the weight saved in the cranks is more noticable than most other upgrades.

An air-sprung fork would drop at least .5lbs, maybe a full pound. It would also greatly increase the tuning options available to you. A new entry-level air-sprung fork would run around $300. You can probably find a better deal on eBay for a used fork, though. Make sure you take measurements of what length steerer tube you need - you'll probably need a shop to set the star nut and the crown races. I'm of the opinion that in most every case, the travel shouldn't be changed by more than 20mm. Most newcomers value quantity over quality. They think that the more travel they get, the better their bike is. This is just not true. You're bike came with an 80mm fork, I would recommend that you replace it with an 80mm fork in order to retain the handling characteristics of the bike.