mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Trek 4300?? crap or not?

My friend keeps telling me that my Trek 4300 is a piece of crap and that i should just sell it and get a new bike. i payed about $400 for it and im wondering is it worth selling or is it a decent bike. its got a 15.5" frame and im about 5'5". im pretty new to the sport. does anyone think its a good bike for me?

PVNEMBA vee pee
    Jan 2006
    If you like the bike and it's not giving you problems, it's just fine. My buddy recently bought a 4300 for himself and a 3900 for his wife. He is very pleased with both bikes. He joins me on beginner and intermediate rides and the bike has held up just fine. He is not as fit as I am and the bike can't take the same beating a $2000-$4000 bike can, but he's not going on crazy trails and doesn't have that kind fo budget. Hope this helps...

- Chris

Work Hard, Play Harder
    Quote Originally Posted by King Of The Hill
    My friend keeps telling me that my Trek 4300 is a piece of crap and that i should just sell it and get a new bike. i payed about $400 for it and im wondering is it worth selling or is it a decent bike. its got a 15.5" frame and im about 5'5". im pretty new to the sport. does anyone think its a good bike for me?
    I bought the 4300 in '03 and the bike always served me well. But the shock was complete crap and the components were low level. I basically went cheap at first just to make sure that I was gonna enjoy mtb'ing before I bought a serious bike. This year though I definitley needed an upgrade and bought a new bike. The 4300 is fine, but there are also alot better bikes out there. It all depends basically on how much money you have, what type of riding you do, and what is important to you. If the bike is treating you good and you like it, then keep it. Forget what your friend says. What if he told you to jump off a bridge lol.
    06 Rocky Mountain ETSX - Full XTR, Fox Shox, Crossmax XL Wheels

mtbr member
    Mar 2006