mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Trek 4300 Alpha Questions

I'm pretty new to mtbing and have a few questions about my trek 4300, I was thinking about upgrading my rear derailleur but I'm not certain what kind to put on any suggestions? Also if I were to upgrade the cassette, could I go from an 8 speed to a 9? These might be dumb questions but I'm a nube so any advice is appreciated. Trek 4300 Alpha Questions-trek-4300.jpg
    Learn to love what you have been taught to fear!

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    Yes u can up grade to 9 or 10 speed but u will have to change shifter to 9 or 10 speed an the rear derailleur. I have Shimano Zee 10 speed on both my treks and love it. U can buy the the shifter at blue skycycling and shop around on the price for the rear derailleur and rear cassette i used slx rear cassette from blueskysky. (Zee derailleur comes in 2 types DH which is for down hill riding it uses like a 105 (road bike cassette)then type 2 is FR free ride riding for climbing hills.)
    Shimano M640 Zee Rear Derailleur > Components > Drivetrain > Rear Derailleurs | Jenson USA Online Bike Shop

BlueSkyCycling.com - Shimano Zee SL-M640 Rear 10 Speed Shifter

BlueSkyCycling.com - Shimano SLX HG-62 Cassette 10 Speed

and u ll need a new 10 speed chain
    BlueSkyCycling.com - Shimano XT HG94 10 Speed Chain

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    Alright thanks for the advice, do you think its worth the upgrade?

mtbr member
    Aug 2012

Re: Trek 4300 Alpha Questions

Id just ride it until you break something, then upgrade. Chances are you'll want to upgrade the entire bike before long. That being said...if you find a good deal on some quality drive train components, it is a major upgrade over the alivio stuff.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2

mtbr member
    Nov 2011
    That just depends if ya ever gonna sell the bike later its hard to sell a 4300 even with upgraded parts.If you dont plan on ever selling it then yes its worth it ride it till the wheels fall off

Love4Mtns