Thread: Trek 3700

mtbr member
    Apr 2007

Trek 3700

Hey Everyone,

I am just getting into riding(super noob), and i received a Trek 3700 for Christmas. Now I know it doesn't have many bells and whistles. 60mm fork i think, canti breaks, etc.. What would it take to hook it up with some mechanical discs? Also, how much is it going to run me to put a nicer fork up front(thinking 110mm)?

Thanks,

Mike

On Another note, sadly the rear rim bent when i hit a rock on a trail, had to get that fixed. Also, somehow the left crank completely fell off because the nut(i think) that holds the arm to the assembly? fell out. That was an interesting experience...riding with one leg is not fun at all even with my smarty clip-in pedals.

mtbr member
    Be sure to do some research on upgrading your fork if you want to go longer. That will change the bike's geometry and could make the ride quality shoddy. Search for some posts where experience riders have done the swap already.

For discs you'll probably be looking at the break kit as well as new wheels, unless yours are disc compatible already.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by Fairchild
    Be sure to do some research on upgrading your fork if you want to go longer. That will change the bike's geometry and could make the ride quality shoddy. Search for some posts where experience riders have done the swap already.

For discs you'll probably be looking at the break kit as well as new wheels, unless yours are disc compatible already.

current wheels are what came on the bike when I received it.

Lionel Hutz, Esq.
    I wouldn't go any more than 80mm for the fork upgrade. Anything higher is really going to change how the bike acts and you probably won't like it.

Besides, a new fork will cost at least $100. And that's for a basic fork.