mtbr member
    Aug 2015

Stache and flat pedals

Anybody run flat pedals on there Stache ? Do your feet stay on the pedals well?

western NC
    Yep, I run flats and five tens, no issues.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Been running flats for just about a couple years now, also no issues besides being much more fun and adding to big @ss bmx bike affect

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by 2old View Post
    I don't I use SPD's
    When I do run flats I only wear FiveTen shoes.

Quote Originally Posted by HPIguy View Post
    Yep, I run flats and five tens, no issues.
    His setup is flawless.
    Too Many .

mtbr member
    Flat's on Stache are going to be likes flats on just about any other similar bike. Riding flats is a definite skill. I rode exclusively clipless for nearly 20 years and when I started riding flats (with Five Tens) is was a steep learning curve. I still have the 5-10s but am using Shimano AM7 shoes now, which I like quite a bit better than the 5-10s I had, but 5-10 makes a lot of different shoes.
    Do the math.

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    The wife has flats on her Stache, and 5-10'a as well and she said that her first ride or two she had to consciously think about moving her foot the shoes stuck so well!
    Somewhere lost in the Bush!

western NC
    I still have the scars to prove (still healing after over a year actually LOL) that flats will find and quickly show any and all flaws in technique if you're used to a clipless setup.

The top and bottom cuts were DEEP. This was at the very beginning of a ride too. And yes, I still finished my ride.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Stache and flat pedals-shins.jpg  

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Quote Originally Posted by 2old View Post
    I have used both flats and clipless on my Stache 9. Most recently the flat pedals (Specialized Boomslang) have been getting the nod due to the weather we have been having as I preferred not to have mud clogging my clipless pedals.