mtbr member
    Apr 2006

I've decided on a 2006 GF Tassajara as my first XC MTB (Disc or no Disc?)...

First of all, do you guys think I've made a good decision. I've looked at a bunch of bikes, but we are fairly limited locally as far as dealers go (We have Giant, Jamis and a Fisher/Trek dealer locally). The Tass just seems like the most bike for the money and from what I've read it seems to be a solid platform that I can upgrade as time goes on. Do you guys agree? I'm a beginner (owned a Trek 6000-series ten years ago, but nothing since) and I want something that can grow with me, but I'm not ready (I don't think) to spend $1,000 on a HKEK or similar bike.

The only other dilemma I'm having is whether to get the disk brakes or not. I live in the SE, so we are sort of limited in our "gnarly" terrain. Do y'all think I need the disc brakes? I'm 5'11", 200 lbs.

Thanks guys!

w

No longer 26

Go with the discs

No reason not to go with discs on a new bike. Even if it does not seem like terrain etc would call for them they are a better choice IMO. They are more versatile than rim brakes.
    G
    You can't depend on honest answers from dependant hands...

mtbr member
    May 2004
    You don't NEED the disks.
    On the other hand getting the bike with disc brakes already on it means you don't have to wonder about it and later on you don't have to spend to put them on.

I've got V's on mine and they work fine but I'd already have upgraded to discs if I didn't have to replace the stock wheels which don't have disc hubs.

The Tass is a solid bike. I've got two friends with them and they are very happy with them. I'd be riding one except I decided to go with a leftover Big Sur. Just couldn't resist.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by G-Live
    No reason not to go with discs on a new bike. Even if it does not seem like terrain etc would call for them they are a better choice IMO. They are more versatile than rim brakes.
    G