mtbr member
    Nov 2011

... and if we just ... Impressions from Trek Demo day Rumblefish, SF 100, Stache

I have been looking for a 29er to replace my Fuel. Reasons being is more speed and better over roots. I went to a demo day in Conyers, GA and rode the stache 8, Rumblefish Elite, and the Superfly 100 AL Elite. The course was held where the 1996 Olympic Cross Country mountain bike event was held. The course/section I rode was consisted alot of granite hill face and general singletrack in a tight woods. The Granite was not loose and there was a few step downs. Surprisingly you get pretty good traction with the 29-1 and 29-3 tires with tubes in them (i.e. not lower tire pressures as you would on tubless). I should say that I have been riding off and on since 1997 but have been at it steady for about 1.5 years now and plan to continue. In that time I have been only on FS bikes and only owned a HT when I was a teen.

First bike out: Stache 8