mtbr member

I'm a newbie, and want to buy a Trek

I ride for a few months. And now I want to buy a Trek bike - Elite 8.6 - a MTB hardtail.
    I'm 5' 6" (169~170cm), leg length is about 29" (75cm). I ride MTB size 15.5 feel small but size 17.5 is too large.

How to choose the right size?

mtbr member
    Welcome to the forums. In my opinion, it's all about YOU. Don't let anyone tell you what bike is the right size for you. If you are stuck between the two sizes with nothing in between, there are a few minor adjustments that can be made to the bike itself to make it more "fitting". If that route isn't for you, maybe that bike in general isn't the correct bike for you..? But like I said, do what feels good to you rather than go by a specific setup guide.

Afric Pepperbird
    Quote Originally Posted by namchip View Post
    I ride for a few months. And now I want to buy a Trek bike - Elite 8.6 - a MTB hardtail.
    I'm 5' 6" (169~170cm), leg length is about 29" (75cm). I ride MTB size 15.5 feel small but size 17.5 is too large.

How to choose the right size?
    Visit your local bike shop and test out a few. That's the best answer you can get.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Even though bikes are 'sized' by seat tube length, it's most important to get the right length top tube. And with Trek bikes (and many others), you will find that Trek's entry level bikes have a considerably shorter top tube than a similarly sized bike from their mid-tier and top-tier level bikes. Although you can adjust things like stem length and fore/aft saddle position, once those get out of a middle range, those adjustments have effects that you may not like compared to just extending your seatpost out of the seat tube.