mtbr member
    Jul 2012

How should my forks feel? Could any 2013 Fuel EX 8 owner's please help me?

Hi,

I bought a 2013 Fuel EX8 about 2 weeks ago. I'm new to FOX shocks and MTB in general, I'm looking for some answers. When I bought the bike I was shown how to use the 3 settings trail, climb, descend. I specifically noticed the climb setting behaving similar to a lock-out. I understand it's not a true lockout but to me it felt very close to one while pushing down on the handlebars there was very little travel. A day later I went to dial in the rebound according to the TREK website. For my weight the settings were Rebound 10, 65 psi. The fork stop behaving like a lockout and to me all 3 settings felt the same.
    LBS agreed and sent the fork back to FOX. When the fork came back they added a trail adjust feature for the trail setting. I dialed in my settings again and honestly did not notice a difference. Fork still felt squishy in all three settings.
    Now the rear shock I believe behaves perfect. There is noticeable rebound between trail and descend and very little travel when in climb. This is in my mind how the front should behave.

Could any 2013 owners chime in on how the front suspension behaves in relation to the rear?
    Is the travel the same in all three settings with the only difference being the rebound speed?

Did you notice that it appeared stiff in climb at first? (very little travel)

Did it eventually break in to the point that if you stood up and put your weight on the forks there was considerable more travel? If so how does the bike ride while in climb? Is it possible to stand up and climb? According to FOX the fork is designed to climb seated? Something which I do not necessarily believe.

According to FOX this is normal behavior for the fork. I haven't given it a ride yet before I get some more opinions.

Thanks in advance for any responses.
    Last edited by HOODFIELD; 10-18-2012 at 05:56 AM.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012