mtbr member
    May 2006

Help me decide on a bike!

Hello All!

I'm new to this wonderful forum and have a few questions about deciding on a bike. I have never owned a higher end bike before and have been introduced to several models at the bike shops I've visited in the Mississauga area (near Toronto, Canada). I have tried out the Giant Iguana which is pretty comfortable, Specialized Hard Rock Sport disc (not too impressed), the Gary Fisher Kaitai and Utopia (both strongly recommended to me by the bike shop b/c I told them I primarily bike on roads and light trails).

Can anybody give me some insight on which of these bikes are worth investing in?

I've been trying to read up on components and I know the Utopia has nicer components and I was told by the sales rep it is cheaper to upgrade to a better bike now that switch components down the road (kaitai to Utopia)

mtbr member
    May 2006
    any opinions on the fisher marlin and piranha as well?

Work Hard, Play Harder
    Quote Originally Posted by steven.wonder
    Hello All!

I'm new to this wonderful forum and have a few questions about deciding on a bike. I have never owned a higher end bike before and have been introduced to several models at the bike shops I've visited in the Mississauga area (near Toronto, Canada). I have tried out the Giant Iguana which is pretty comfortable, Specialized Hard Rock Sport disc (not too impressed), the Gary Fisher Kaitai and Utopia (both strongly recommended to me by the bike shop b/c I told them I primarily bike on roads and light trails).

Can anybody give me some insight on which of these bikes are worth investing in?

I've been trying to read up on components and I know the Utopia has nicer components and I was told by the sales rep it is cheaper to upgrade to a better bike now that switch components down the road (kaitai to Utopia)