Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2011

Boost 148 conversion to 142

If you want to run say a standard 142 wide carbon wheel set, is a conversion from 148 boost going to be possible? It's a brand new standard I know but I'm not that impressed with the current SRAM wheel options.

Cassoulet forever !
    I've been thinking of the same.
    I have no real life experience, but theorically Yes it is possible.

Put a 3mm spacer with 12mm internal bore on each side of the hub.
    Put a 3mm spacer between the disk and the hub, and check the 6 screws are long enough to engage.

As boost 148 is on the remedy carbon only for now, i assume you will be using this frame and so the postmount rear caliper, so the offset of the disk from the hub is needed.
    If you use a custom/proto frame with an IS caliper mount, then some 3mm spacers between the caliper and the frame and longuer bolts could do it without changing the disk.

I might do this exact mod, if i get a remedy C, and the hub manufacturers do not release 148mm hubs fast enough (somebody here wrote that Chris King, Hope, DT swiss will make some), i plan on machining the parts to use a wide carbon whellset. If i go this route i might get the Roval 142+ version.
    An other option is to re-lace the rear hub (but only 24 spokes i think ?)
    Frenchspeaking 29"ers community site http://VingtNeuf.org

mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Remedy

I just built my Remedy and it does look like a 3mm spacer on each side of the hub and a standard XX1 spider for chainline would do the trick. I dont think you would need a full 3mm behind the rotor as the caliper can move over a good bit. I think maybe just a washer between rotor bolts and hub will work.

I talked with I9 just the other day and was told that their hubs would be ready by mid October.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Boost 148 conversion to 142-remedy29.jpg  

Last edited by Carl.D; 09-05-2014 at 09:34 PM.

mtbr member
    Dec 2012