mtbr member
    Feb 2012

advice on an '02 Fuel 98

I have the opportunity to purchase an '02 fuel 98. It's a complete bike, but missing tires, cables, and a chain....purchase price is $250. I figured i would post up in the Trek part of the forum to see what you Trek guys had to say about it. I'm new to biking and would greatly appreciate any input you all had to offer.

cash money
    not too bad, i would go through the bike carefully before purchase though. Hubs good? r derailler hanger good and rear derailler not damaged? pivots good? Shocks working properly? Need Cables AND housing or just cables? what cables? brake and drail? Shifters and brakes work properly? need brake pads? Frame not damaged? stuff like that...

expect to put aside an extra 100 for a good set o' tires.
    depending on what you mean by its "missing cables" looking at under up to 50 or so for that...
    Chain is prob 9 speed. typically 25+ dollars for that. Dont be suprised if it skips though. Worst case is new cassette and/or chainrings on top of that.

good to excellent bike wrenching skills needed. or lots of extra dollars to pay the shop to do it.

You probably should elaborate a bit more on what it needs for more help. Pictures?
    Price is pretty good. as long as it doesnt need much i would go for it.

Hope this helps
    I work at a bike shop. Trek, Gt, fuji, DB, etc...

2012 Trek Superfly 100 al pro-sold
    Soon to be 2014 trek slash 8

mtbr member
    Feb 2012
    Thank you for the info. I know next to nothing about these things.... I haven't seen it in person yet, i'm going this weekend to look at it. He's told me the only things it needs are: tubes/tires, cables (brake and shift), a chain, and brake pads.