mtbr member
    Jan 2014

2014 Trek Remedy 9.8 seatpost length and sizing Q's

Hi all,

I just got a 2014 18.5" Remedy 9.8 from a private seller.

I am 5'11 32 inseam 210 lbs. I've been riding for 20+ years with 1-2K' and sometimes 3K' climbs each ride.

When I adjusted the seat per directions from the Art's Cyclery youtube videos I need the seatpost to be 14mm further than the max insertion line of the rockshox reverb dropper post. And the seat needs to be almost all the way back for the knee - plumb drop.

Should I just use the stock dropper post even if it sticks out 14mm beyond the line?

I amy want to replace the post with a longer one, IF there is a longer one.
    So - does anyone know what size the stock post is? I'm hoping it is not the 420mm which is the longest Rockshox has on the website.

One other thing - my other MTB posts have an offset at the seat mount to the rear to give the seat more support to the rear. The dropper post goes straight up. The seat flexes when I pedal. Is there a dropper post with the better rear support or do you have any ideas about how to limit the flex? I notice that the post even flexes a bit.

Or is there some seat mount extender or do they make taller seats that might make up the 1/2 inch?
    Thanks for your help.

Kick Start My Heart
    I am 6'1", I've got a 32" inseam, and I am on a 19.5 2013 Fuel EX8. Offhand, with the seatpost issue and all, I'd have to say your frame is 1" to small. Being a bigger guy makes for tough sizing issues.
    I needed an offset seatpost and went with the Specialized Command Post Blacklite.
    I'd guess that you are vested in this frame. Okay, so that being the case, you are going to need one hell of a lot of seatpost. The long seatpost is part of the issue with that flexing though, as that length out there acts like a big 'ol lever when you put any force to it. A large frame with less post exposed=less flex.