mtbr member
    Aug 2012

2013 Trek 4500 vs 2013 Trek Mamba

Hi guys,

Over the past two weeks I've been looking into getting an entry level bike for a bit of off-road riding. I've got a budget of around $1000(au) and won't really be doing anything crazy on the bike, just a bit of riding for fun and fitness.
    I looked at and rode a few Giant Talon's, Cannondale Trail SL's and Trek 4500 and Mamba's. Of the lot I really liked the two Treks. The main difference for me between these two bikes are the wheel sizes. In terms of components, is there much difference between the two? Being a novice, I don't really know the difference between certain component models - does anyone know which has the better components?
    From what I've been told the Mamba has the better forks and the 4500 has the better brakes - but then again I couldn't really feel this for myself doing a flat road test. I'm leaning towards the 26er as it felt a bit better for me but if anyone can help with the component differences, that would be appreciated.

Cheers
    Chris

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    Hi Chris!
    Well, between the 26er 4500 and the 29er Mamba, i'd definitely get the Mamba.
    here's why:

4500 & Mamba's drivetrain is identical, the rest of the parts are more or less at the same level (saddle, handlebar, stem, Headset, brakes) but the fork & geometry (very important) aren't.

While the 4500 has a standard geometry and SR Suntour fork, the Mamba has a better Rockshox fork along with the better G2 geometry that is great.

I think the Mamba will be the right chice just because it's gonna do everything better and with more confidence: roll over obstacles (29 wheels are bigger so it's easier) ,Climb & descend (29 wheels = more traction), keep a better momentum, and more forgiving in terms of mistakes you might do as a novice rider. So, my warm recommendation for a novice rider like you would be a 29er HT = Mamba.

Please read what BIKERADAR thought of the Mamba last May: