mtbr member

New question here. US to UK price gap TR450

I'm in the process of deciding on what DH rig I'm going to settle on and the 450 is most definitely on the shortlist.
    Whilst the end cost is something I've to take into consideration, it isn't something that will sway me one way or the other. And tbh you get what you pay for.

However, what really does chap my ass is being subtly ripped off by greedy store owners. Or am I missing something?

Ok so here's the thing. Why is the gap in the US to UK end price so huge, when the bike specs are indentical on a 2013 build 1?

TR450; $6699 USD (price on Transition website)

At the current exchange rate this equates to; $6699USD totalling to 4149.56GBP

TR450; 6350GBP (price on UK suppliers that I can find)

At the current exchange rate this equates to; 6350GBP totalling to $10,251USD

Now I'm no math professor but that is a difference of 2200.44 in GBP, so how in the hell does a bike that is identical, retail at a realistic price of just over 4k suddenly get inflated to well over 6k just because it's travelled a couple of thousand miles?

Now I appreciate that there are obviously import duties to pay, shipping, dealer mark-up etc and of course we're subjected to 20%vat here in f*%k the working man Britain, but seriously. A difference of 2200quid is just wrong and quite frankly greedy.

I mean would you guys pay over $10k for a bike, knowing that at point of origin it's a 3rd cheaper with no discernable difference in build or quality?

I'm sure that all the bikes coming into and sold out by UK dealers are pretty much subjected to this pricing difference but I think I looked a little harder at the 450 as it's currently top of my list.

Are there any UK 450 owners who bought theirs without realising what a huge difference in price there was at time of purchase? Or were you just happy to hand your money over?

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    TR450 $6699 = 4165
    Plus duty at 5.4% = 225
    Plus VAT T 20% = 833