mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Smuggler for sale and mid-life crisis

Hi Transition folks,

I hope this post makes you laugh...

I have a Smuggler to sell. 2015 XL frame. Blue/teal color. Pike fork, Reverb dropper post, wide carbon tubeless rims, XT 1X drivetrain, XT brakes, and so on. In short, it's a really, really nice bike, in great condition.

So why am I selling it? Well, over the last two years, I slowly assembled this bike, and now I have been riding it for a few months and...I goofed. I blew it. I made a mistake. This is not the bike for me. How did this happen?

I had a mid-life crisis. I have been riding bikes for thirty years. I've always been a mountain biker, but I also raced on the road for a long time. I can't shake the feeling of a hard tail, and my love for light, rigid, simple bikes. On the trails where I ride 95 % of the time, you just don't need a fully. It's way too much bike for me.

As I approached 45 years old, I convinced myself that with a full suspension bike, I would be able to ride like the cool kids. I took the Smuggler down to a ski area, and rode down some lift-served alpine trails--great fun, but not what I love best.

Just to show you how serious this was, during the same time period, I changed from my old, traditional skis to some fancy new rockered Freeride skis from DPS. For the uninitiated, DPS is to skis as Transition is to mountain bikes--a small company promising big fun in the mountains. Of course, just as I am not suited to the Smuggler, neither was I suited to those DPS skis. Big mountain freeride? Who am I kidding? That's not me!

And do I need to mention money? Raised eyebrows and sidelong glances from my wife. Waves of guilt when I play with my daughter (what about the college fund?). Panic attacks when I think about house payments, convulsions when I check my car payments, and so forth...on short, I can't afford this bike!