mtbr member
    Dec 2011

Scout vs Sight vs 5010

Hi all,

I'm looking for some thoughts on how these three bikes (Scout, Sight, and 5010) compare; it's time for a new bike and these three grab my attention the most.

The Scout sounds like it is a blast on the trails, which I'm very attracted to, but I'm wondering if the Sight might have similar qualities, just with more travel. Also, I'm wondering if the 5010 would be better for big all day rides.

I imagine this forum might be a little bit biased, but I thought I'd throw it out there anyway. Happy riding!

Dnn
    mtbr member
    I've had a V1 5010 for quite some time. Switched to a Transition scout, then tried a v2 5010 for 2 weeks but kept the Transition scout.

I have no experience with a Sight.

I originally switched from a V1 5010 to a Transition Scout because I felt the 5010 was quite short and I had to run 70mm stem for it to be just "OK" reach-wise.
    The second I tried the Transition Scout I knew I would be hooked, at least on the reach/general fit feel. The Scout has quite a long reach and I used a 50mm stem and it still felt considerably longer then the V1 5010.
    I was very happy with the Scout and my confidence increased fast with that bike.

I had the usual cable-rattle problems og some other issues with the scout, and when the 5010 V2 was announced I wanted to try it out as they increased reach and shock tune + I wanted carbon bling.

I used all the same components from my scout on the 5010 V2 frame. That meant I used 140mm front, not 130mm.

The 5010 V2 is surely longer than the 5010 V1, but it is still a short bike - At least it feels quite short. The 5010 V2 size large with a 140mm fork is still 17mm shorter in reach compared to a Transition scout in large.
    That is obviously a big diffrence. The 5010 felt more playful, the front was easier to lift but at the expense of stability and confidence feel.