Awesome, not Cool

How well do these bikes pedal?

I've been looking at the Covert model on Bikechecker software and it seems to have, what I think, are great numbers for pedaling efficiency. Chain growth is relatively short at 9mm, global pedal kickback is +1.5 degrees and pedal kickback from frame is -6 degrees. This to me seems quite efficient.

The better known bikes like Ibis, Specialized, Turner, etc... have numbers like 21mm, +14 degrees, and +6 degrees respectively. This to me means, more kickback and more energy spent fighting that kickback = less efficient.

I'm an engineer so I do like to analyze data and compare numbers I get on my computer but I know it's not enough to look at numbers, it's best to compare that data with how a bike rides in the real world.

Disregard weight, looks, materials, etc...

So, what I'm interested in is how much pedal kickback can you feel on a Transition Covert?
    Does it feel sluggish or snappy?
    Do you fight the pedals when you're at speed, pedaling, on a flat rocky terrain?
    Any descriptions of it's pedaling characteristics welcome...

Thanks

jtd
    mtbr member
    After years on a covert I will have to say that I don't feel any remarkable pedal kick back/feedback while pedalling or ripping downhill. Could be that I am used to it... I do/have noticed way more kickback on vpp bikes while coasting through rough stuff though. Some kick bad enough they will slink the cranks backwards at compression.

I will say honestly that if you want a bike to do flat rocky riding the Covert is not the bike for you. The BB is so low that you will smack pedals constantly. Pedal feedback is the least of your worries. The best way to describe a Covert is that it is a mini-dh bike you can pedal. Definitely not an xc bike, and would be a complete waste to build it as such.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006