likes bicycles

Covert V1.5 - Chainstay broke at weld

I've loved this bike from day one. We've been through a lot together, and my heart broke along with the chainstay.

I was riding the Tahoe Rim Trail today and had to hike it out. As you can see below, the break was right on the weld. I guess she just had enough.

Has anyone out there broke a V1.5 recently? I'm a student, so really hoping I can figure something out with this...

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by vitale232 View Post
    I'm a student, so really hoping I can figure something out with this...
    Sounds like you have two options...

Track down a replacement rear triangle... or chain stay...

Or

Have it welded by someone who is an artist with aluminum fab... the right person should be able to fix that up just like new... though it will never be as pretty, no reason that couldn't be tig'd back together.

mtbr member
    Are those just butted together? I always figured they were shouldered dropouts that were slid in and welded.

Either way - like htek said, have a competent weldor fry that thing back together.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    Call Transition. I broke a Vagrant frame a couple years ago. It was way out of warranty and Transition sold me a new frame at 1/2 price. They could've easily told me to pound sand, but they took care of me. They'll give you some options, give them a call.
    2013 Transition TransAM 29er
    2011 Yeti 303R DH
    2012 Banshee Spitfire V1.5

likes bicycles
    Quote Originally Posted by VTSession View Post
    Call Transition. I broke a Vagrant frame a couple years ago. It was way out of warranty and Transition sold me a new frame at 1/2 price. They could've easily told me to pound sand, but they took care of me. They'll give you some options, give them a call.
    You were spot on. Well taken care of by Transition.