mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Covert 2012 - some questions

Hey,

I'm currently looking into getting a Transition Covert. I can get my hands on a rather cheap one and I'm planning to use the parts of my old bike. However, I have some questions and I hope you guys can help me out:

1) I want to use my Fox Talas with this bike and I'm looking for a headset. It's a 150 mm fork and I'm planning to get a 160mm sooner or later. Would your overall advice would be to not get a semi integrated headset, so the front would not get too low? In any way, what headset would you recommend (this would help me tremendously since I'm a super noob when it comes to headsets). Would the FSA Gravity DX be good enought for a start? Then - the tube of my fork is appr. 280 mm long, and I was previously running a semi integrated headset in my old frame. Will the 280 mm be long enough to fit in a 2012 Covert?

2) I know this is maybe too much to ask for, but does by any chance any of you guys the length of the cable hoses for a Reverb and the front brake? This is just so I can start on saving some bucks for bleeding kits if my current hoses are too short...

3) My Reverb has a 30.9 diameter, whereas the Covert needs one with 31.6 mm. I'm planning to get a spacer so I can fit my seatpost into the Covert - has anyone of you done this before and do I need to worry about damages which might still happen to the frame when using a seat post spacer?

TIA and happy trails!

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Hi,

1) it's more the question, if you want to run a tapered fork? If yes, you need an EC.
    3) no problem, you can do that.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    reverb comes with a bleed kit and the replacement hose is 11$ or you can buy the kit pretty cheap. Reverb bleed kit will work with Avid brakes or vise versa. They use different fluids so you want to be aware of that.
    I had to pay 40$ for an avid hose to stretch out my rear line. But now I have a spare to use on a front...

Basura Blanca
    Jan 2004