mtbr member
    Apr 2015

Using MARKING FLAGS to improve trail design

I am designing a singletrack trail system at my ski area. I am a MTB trail design NOVICE. I have 170 acres and have finished marking about 12 miles of trail. Yesterday I started to fine-tune the design, modifying route just a tad to better lines I did not see before and roughing the trail corridor so that volunteers can start working on it.

I HAD PROBLEMS ROUTING A FEW TIGHTER CORNERS, initially taking them one way, then looking again from different angles and finding that it would have been better (more fluid/flowy, better corner radius) to route them a different way. In one corner I cut a few 3-4 inch cherry trees on the outside, only to find that was not necessary. Do not like cutting trees, especially in error!! My situation is made more difficult as trees in many areas of my property are very close together with lots of bushes and smaller trees.

I am wondering if anybody USES WIRE MARKING FLAGS SPACED CLOSELY TOGETHER to help see/mark the best line?? After time I'd guess that trail design experts gather enough experience that this process is easy, but WHEN YOU WERE BEGINNING did you use flags or any other method to help you see the best route?? Please explain.

(Break to politely send Jehovas witnesses on their way.)

Hopefully I'll get some good input on this. Thanks in advance, ...tom
    Last edited by snowkraft; 04-22-2015 at 07:55 AM. Reason: Grammar

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Marking flags should be used for any significant trail layout project. Pretty common knowledge actually.

I vary flag spacing based on how twisty the trail is which can range from 5' to 20' apart for the initial rough flagging. After that, I come back and define the lower edge of the trail with flags spaced every 3' so volunteers have a good reference line to follow when benching. Just like IMBA teaches in their trailbuilding classes.

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    Use 'em by the hundreds.
    Sinister Bikes