mtbr member
    Apr 2008

TTF for a trail construction project: Please post inspirational pictures

Hi all

I am a forest manager in the process of constructing a mountain bike freeride/xc trail. I intend to use features present in the forests to make the trail exciting. Rocks will be used as jumps and obstacles, logs will be converted to skinnies.
    The trail is as is 3 kms and rather slow and technical. Its not much land available, so I will make it a puzzle to complete the trail and I will try to slow the riders by spending time on the features on the trail. I also hope that challenging features that riders will not likely stick on the first ride, will make them return to the trail to beat it.

But I am looking for inspiration for exciting features to build with some basic building instructions. What I intend to do is:
    Skinnies
    Berms
    Ladder bridges
    See-saws

Please fill me in with more features with pictures!

Johan

beer thief
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Mar 2007

A few things to check out

is no longer new
    May 2008
    wow thanks general. that is exactly what i needed.

I'm on fire.
    My suggestion would be to build things that are very strong and need little maintenance. The pics above are good - full sized logs, big rocks.
    Sanity is the trademark of a weak mind.
    Cycle CNY

Don't worry, be happy!
    we've got lots of great rock ( and a truck load of cedar donated by the local utility)

mtbr member
    I've got a few links for you to check out...

first, here's one from the pinkbike archives. Covers trail design, general trails, freeride and north shore stunts, dirt jumps, and additional things. It's not as good of a referance as the IMBA trail building book, but it's free and a good place to get a feel for things. Also, don't let the fact that I'm linking to pinkbike scare you...the guide is actually pretty well written.