mtbr member
    Nov 2009

Trail seasoning, drainage etc. for PNW year round trails

Hello. This is my first post so excuse me if this has already been explored/answered (just send me a link to the relevant thread.)

I have been building trails in western Oregon for several years now. Mostly solo but in coordination with the Forest Service on occasion.

My problem is drainage. I build bench cut, sloped trails and try to put in enough drainage paths and grade changes. Nonetheless I still get a fair bit of rutting and erosion from wet weather riders. I could certainly do better, dig more, make more places for water to escape, create even more grade changes etc. but before I go crazy turning what I call "good" into "perfect" I wanted to know if it is likely to work.

I recently learned about the "seasoning" of trails and this makes sense to me. The soil I work with is largely organic, the clay is just too deep to reliably use or get to. There is not a great amount of rock either and bringing it in is not an option. So, I can do some armoring but not a tremendous amount.

My question is twofold:
      • Can anyone comment generally on big picture approches to such conditions, including the use of seasoning (in particular for berms and other built up elements) and drainage structures/regimes (ie. Is there a best place to prioritize use of limited rock)?
    • Is it realistic/feasible for a one man show (without rock and gravel to bring in) to build a trail that will hold up to Oregon winter riding without building ladders over the more vulnerable spots?

Thanks for any help with this.

humber river advocate
    you can use a composite geotextile system with grid in it. it stabilizes the ground and facilitates drainage. i've also invented a special sub grade drainage layer that stabilizes the ground over very soft areas and drains extremely well... though the down side is that this all costs a bit of cash.
    Support TORBA
    Sunnyside Bike Park Working Group