mtbr member
    Feb 2013

the small park with trails you can ride to from your house

I'd like to encourage riders with park/development opportunities nearby to make a cool local trail loop, as possible. It's so much better to be able to ride to the trails from my house, even for a short ride, than to have to load the car and drive 30min+ to the trailhead.

I've got a 25acre +- unmaintained city park near my house that I've been working on for a couple of years, and it's a really great place to for xc workouts and group riding (including night rides, and rides with my kids) without have to get in the car. At least 4 of my friends in the general area have similar size parks with some existing trails that they can expand for more opportunity, 2 are planning and 2 are actively working on these small systems.
    I think it would be great if there were lots more of these short xc (and other) style loops all around, - multi-use trails, lots of hikers and a few trail runners have found my trails, and that's cool, the city needs more trails. My lap with almost zero overlap is about 30 minutes. Maintenance is now very minimal, mostly just a few hours in the late spring with a cordless hedge trimmer, and spot trimming with hand clippers.
    What have you got that you can ride to from your house?, what have you done with it?

On wuss patrol
    Hmmm, if what you've been doing and/or are proposing is on public land, then it's pretty much illegal without going through the proper procedures and channels to build trails. Is that what you're proposing? Hmmmm?

And, since it may be illegal and off-grid, should it be included on the map of the whole forest?
    Sometimes, you need to go fast enough that the trail is a blur to find clarity. -- Wild Bill

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    I only maintain existing trails, and I only cut invasives, - plus trash pickup.

On wuss patrol
    You used words like "expand" and "could use more trails" which threw me off.