turtles make me hot

Repairing A Badly Eroded Sandy Hill

One of the trails I've been riding for over twenty years is getting bad.
    Long Island is very sandy. We do have a lot of excellent hard pack singletrack, but in a few spots, especially the hills, once you break through the hard top, sand just pours down the hill and keeps opening up. Now, at the bottom of a couple of these hills, the sand is so deep, it kills off all your speed and most hope of getting up.
    It's bad to the point where trees are going to start falling over.
    The main spot I'm talking about isn't too far in from a road, so I can bring supplies fairly close before I have to carry them in.
    I've looked on line and did a search here. I found two books online titled Managing Mountainbiking and Trail Solutions. Maybe Trail Solutions will be helpful.

Anyway, I think I'd like to do an organic type of repair and not tires or pavers. Anyone done this type of work before and want to share some ideas?
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    Sounds like a good place for a bridge/boardwalk.

turtles make me hot
    I actually found a description of the correct way to place a trail on a hill and this one is WRONG. Next time I'm there I'm going to spend some time looking for a way to correct it. The trail runs straight down the hill as water would. It needs to go back and forth.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Keep reading those books! It sounds like you have an understanding of why this style of trail cannot last. Have any photos of the trail?