mtbr member
    May 2006

pump track maintenance

Hey guys,

We are in the proposal stage of building a skills area and pump track at one of our local trails. I had one of the trail leaders ask me about the amount of maintenance a pump track requires. I've never built one before, so i was kinda clueless on the answer. I do help out at the bmx track and it is a ton of work. We basically have to rebuild the place after every heavy rain. Is a pump track going to be the same way? The trail leaders won't support the pump track part of the proposal if it will require constant maintenance. I was assuming if the bumps/berms were built and packed in properly, that erosion would not be a big problem.

Thanks for any help!

mtbr member
    Jan 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by buconine
    Hey guys,

We are in the proposal stage of building a skills area and pump track at one of our local trails. I had one of the trail leaders ask me about the amount of maintenance a pump track requires. I've never built one before, so i was kinda clueless on the answer. I do help out at the bmx track and it is a ton of work. We basically have to rebuild the place after every heavy rain. Is a pump track going to be the same way? The trail leaders won't support the pump track part of the proposal if it will require constant maintenance. I was assuming if the bumps/berms were built and packed in properly, that erosion would not be a big problem.

Thanks for any help!
    It will require maintenance replacing dirt every year or so. But it won't be as much IF you build one right.

Most important things are drainage and dirt.