Rider, Builder, Dreamer

Organizing and hosting a trail building workshop

My college Mountain Biking Club wants to do a fundraiser, and I'd like to do a trailbuilding clinic here in Oneonta, NY. Over the past few years mountain biking has made huge leaps in this community, and we have finally obtained official permission to build more trail on state land owned by the NYS Office of General Services.

My question is this: What would it take to get a trail building clinic to happen and (more importantly) how do we get people to show up and throw some cash our way? Do we charge or do suggested donation?

While we are not an IMBA-affiliated group, we have learned a lot from the IMBA guidelines as well as from the countless places we have ridden. Since I have been building here for 4 years and will continue to do so for quite some time, I personally would probably lead the event, lay out the trail, give demos, etc. with assistance from other key bike community members.

Any input or advice is, as always, greatly appreciated. Cheers!

Sam B-S

mtbr member
    Seems like it would be hard to combine these two events. The past trail building clinics we have put on, I focused towards my trail coordinators, any body interested in becoming a trail coordinator, willing to work with a TC as a crew leader and even people interested in long term trail building. I didn't want an open to the public\club event where they would come, socialize, partake of free food\beer and then never see them again.