mtbr member
    Jul 2013

My McLeod look alike tool

What do you think about the look alike McLeod trail tool i made here at work. I work in sales at a stainless steel service center here in Houston & have access to our plasma machine. It has 7 teeth instead of 6 and it's shaped a little different, the flat side is sharpened for cutting roots & stuff like that. It's a little heavy at 10.5 lbs. but i can probably lighten that up if i use 10ga instead of 3/16" thk plate and a thinner wall for the tubing on the handle. It should get the job done. My McLeod look alike tool-trail-tool-001.jpgMy McLeod look alike tool-trail-tool-002.jpgMy McLeod look alike tool-trail-tool-003.jpg

mtbr member
    Nice... 10.5 lbs It will let the tool work the way it should. Just make sure you only let people with a strong handshake us it.
    - Be Someone

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Nice work. Those look like they could take some punishment. Are they stainless steel?

If the weight is an issue, a wood handle could probably shave off a pound or two and you wouldn't need to worry about it bending or kinking like a thinner wall tube might.

It looks like the handle is attached to the head with threads? Have you considered it may try to unscrew itself during use? If it is a problem you could drill a hole through the coupling and put a pin through both parts to prevent rotation.

mtbr member
    Jul 2013
    The head & the coupling is stainless since that's what i had on hand, the handle is 3/4" carbon gas pipe in got at Home Depot. I haven't used it yet so i'm not sure if it's going to come loose or not, it tightens on pretty tight even tighter with a pipe wrench, but if it does come loose during use i have consider what you sugested about the pin, i would have welded the handle on, but wanted it detachable for transporting into the feild.

mtbr member
    May 2004