Thread: Map Graphics

mtbr member
    May 2004

Map Graphics

This is a 'map' I created for the county showing existing and proposed trails for a new open space project outside Aspen. I am a professional planner, designer, and illustrator and would like to begin offering this kind of service to the larger populous.

You can see more of our work at terrainstudioaspen.com

Best,

Nick

Heavylegs
    Apr 2012
    That is an awesome map! Wish they all could be that nice.

it looks really nice but it's not a very good format for navigating. the perspective makes it difficult to pin your location and the huge amount of color and detail makes it difficult to print and use as flyers.

it would make an awesome trailhead kiosk map, though, if you could use UV resistant inks.

I think it will be difficult to convince clubs to pay for your services frequently. and a lot of local land managers are not terribly interested in high quality kiosks at trailheads. they get a basic one up with the critical information, don't put much attention to the design, and generally forget about it.

mtbr member
    May 2004
    Thanks for the response Natehawk. This particular map and another we created were specifically for county oopen space manager, local mountain bike association, and outdoor volunteer organizations. They have each used it fairly extensively to promote new trail building projects in Snowmass as a means to getting more volunteers. It wasnt necessarily intended for navigational use, but would make a great kiosk map in my opinion--see ski resort maps--they are in perspective, birds eye views and most people use them with great success because perspective is almost instantly understandable by virtually anyone. We also offer GIS services, but frankly most people cannot read a standard GIS map.