mtbr member
    Nov 2014

Inherited land - time to build a trail

Now that I have some land, I'm wanting to build a trail. I have no trail building experience, but have done landscaping work and have friends who have built and maintained trails in NC.

With that said, I inherited about 175 acres of wooded property in middle TN that I would like to put a trail network on. I'm going to build a cabin/house on the property and would love to be able to walk out of the house and hop on a bike. I have no clue where to start on planning the trail based off of the topo map I have. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

mtbr member
    Hmm, the blank slate problem....

I'd suggest spending a considerable time on foot exploring until you can look at a topo and picture it all well in your head. Identify any areas with potential for biking fun (rocks/tech/flow), nice views, cool trees etc. Mark them on your map & GPS. With beer in hand, start what-ifing on your map. Nested loops? Beginner areas for newbies? Gravity fun? Steep climbs/descents? Leave no idea untouched.

The IMBA manual is a good place to get basic info on trail design & building, so you don't make any horrendous mistakes, but it's your land and can do whatever.

Don't bite off too much right off the bat, as it's a lot of work. Like anything, you'll probably do a better job on later trails as your designer skills improve, so start with an easy one.

Sounds like fun!

mtbr member
    Jun 2006